Sunday, 13 October 2013

EC issues instructions to introduce NOTA

New Delhi:-The Election Commission has issued instructions for Chief Electoral Officers of States and Union Territories to introduce the "None of the Above" (NOTA) option during polls to enable voters to exercise their right to not to vote for any particular candidate while maintaining secrecy. 

The Commission has decided to introduce the NOTA option in forthcoming Assembly elections in the five states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Delhi and Mizoram. The Supreme Court in its historic judgement on the 27th of last month had directed that the said option be included for voters on EVMs and ballot papers. 

About Election Commission of India

The Election Commission of India is an autonomous, constitutionally established federal authority responsible for administering all the electoral processes in the Republic of India. Under the supervision of the commission, free and fair elections have been held in India at 

regular intervals as per the principles enshrined in the Constitution. The Election Commission 
has the power of superintendence, direction and control of all elections to the Parliament of 
India and the state legislatures and of elections to the office of the President of India and the 
Vice-President of India.
The commission consists of a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and two Election 
Commissioners (EC), appointed by the President of India.
The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from his office by Parliament with 
two-thirds majority in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on the grounds of proven misbehaviour or 
incapacity. Other Election Commissioners can be removed by the President on the 
recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner. The Chief Election Commissioner and 
the two Election Commissioners draw salaries and allowances at par with those of the Judges 
of the Supreme Court of India as per the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election 
Commissioners (Conditions of Service) Rules, 1992.The current CEC is V Sundaram Sampath.

Read This Also

You May Also Like